Hidden in the Stars: HITS (Sadie Grubor)

Title: Hidden in the Stars: HITS 

Author: Sadie Grubor

Series: Falling Stars Series # 2

Date: August 13, 2015

Blurb:

When you’re Jackson Shaw, guitarist of The Forgotten, and your hearts been broken, shattered by the deception of a woman you thought was the one. You can’t hide from cameras and millions of fans hanging on every dirty detail printed and posted.

What you can do, is swear off love and dull the ache with gorgeous women who look nothing like that girl who tore you apart. A supermodel girlfriend and sexplicit escapades splashed across the tabloids is the ultimate revenge. It’s also the perfect way to hide your pain in the media. But when the ache turns to a hollow pit, and there isn’t enough sex, drugs, or alcohol to fill the emptiness, what do you do?

You cut your losses and head to L.A. to mentor the latest reality talent show. You follow an old friend into a world where the art of the tease and bump and grind were perfected. Where the sound of her voice calls to every primal instinct buried within your body and makes the demand for your attention.

Jackson’s an addict, and just one taste puts him back in the precarious position of falling in love with a woman who’s mastered the art of ensnaring and teasing.

separador

Happy Review Day! 

Yes, yes, boys and girls, is that time of the week again. Since I’ve been getting swarms of e-mails requesting reviews lately, it’s safe to expect this to become a weekly appointment. So, buckle up, everybody!

Today I come bearing gifts by an undiscovered Indie star: Miss Sadie Grubor

Find her at: Amazon , sadiegrubor.com

HITS (Hidden in the Stars) is the second novel she’s published of her series Falling Stars, all Steamy, Rock Star-ish, Contemporary goodness. I must say that I walked into it a little doubtful at first, but I’m very glad I did. Grubor has definitely turned me into a fan.

With good character development, and a very interesting narrative voice, Sadie Grubor is definitely one to keep an eye on for the future!

Now, unto the main dish! —-

The leads of this novel are Jackson Shaw and Eliza Campbell, who are also the two narrators. The novel is divided into two confessionary (first-person) POV lines, that at first, I thought would create a hassle (especially since the novel is told in present tense). But as it turns out, it works very well. Grubor manages to keep the pace dynamic, and she does a good job in stating the different personalities of the leads, so that you don’t get confused as to who is talking (besides, I liked the doodles, that was a nice touch).

Jackson is your typical foul-mouthed, body-inked, cocky-as-hell Rock Star. He is confident, talented, sexy, and overall, he does pretty much what he wants. However, at the beginning of the book he’s just come out of a very serious relationship that ended up badly, driving him to alcohol and drugs. He is a lost man, in a sense, and has pretty much given up on love after what his ex did to him. I must confess it was easy to buy Jackson’s character. He was very well portrayed, and although his actions grazed the border of cliché a couple of times, he still managed to retain individuality and uniqueness.

That said, I would’ve liked the struggle in his part to be a little more focused. He faces several hardships during his arc, but, even though they are not “shallow” per se, they don’t hold his attention for too long. They are not discussed, not delved into, and by the time he moves on to the next big conflict, it looks like everything was just a little Deus Ex Machina with the resolution of the prior one.

Eliza was far more solid as a character for me. She is a single mother (SPOILER Alert!), who had to give up on her dream of being a singer after she got pregnant at 15. Liza learned to cope with her fate and has built a life for herself and her son that is not only good, but also satisfactory. She has a job that she is actually happy with (albeit a little bit shy about), she is content with her family, and she manages the day to day challenges one at a time, with grace and aplomb.

The only thing missing in her life is someone to cuddle up with at night. Although she doesn’t realize this until Jackson appears and sweeps her off her feet.

I liked their interactions a lot, and I would’ve liked to see a little more of them. With all the drama that takes place during the plot (jealous exes, drug abuse, paparazzi rants, showbiz glamour, etc…) a little bit of the simplicity of the couple is lost, and by the time the author starts showing some more of them, it’s already the end of the book.

The secondary characters were also quite enjoyable, especially Cousin Sid (I’m rooting for you Sidrome!), and it definitely made me curious about the relationship between Chris and Mia (from the first book), so good job hailing me in, Miss Grubor!

Overall is a book I’d recommend. It’s very well crafted and Grubor’s voice is dynamic and lively. For fans of authors like J. R. Ward and Kresley Cole, this books falls along the same lines (except for the paranormal touches), and I’m sure will be enjoyable.

 

My rating:

4

“Almost There!”

A very good book, with just a couple of minor details that didn’t appeal to me personally, but that in no way diminish the value of the entire piece.

Advertisements

One thought on “Hidden in the Stars: HITS (Sadie Grubor)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s